Mr. President

images-1

For the first time in weeks, maybe even months, I have some hope for the country and the direction it is going. I hope President Obama can get this great nation back on track. But I also hope that the American people will step and do their part to support the Commander and Chief.

This morning was definitely one of those, “Where were you on the day…” My parents had Kennedy. I will have Obama.

Obama Inauguration

Barack Obama, left, takes the oath of office from Chief Justice John Roberts, not seen, as his wife Michelle, holds the Lincoln Bible and daughters Sasha, right and Malia, watch at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2009. (AP Photo/Chuck Kennedy, Pool)

I will always remember I was working for the newspaper and having to miss  watching the actual swearing in because of a last minute change in assignments. Instead I had to listen to it on the radio as I jetted to Galt to photograph a woman who family history included slavery. I did get to see some of the address and there I was given some hope – in a little cafe, amongst strangers.

local-reax-6

local-reax-9