Sunday adventures | my life

Sunday, we trekked up to Volcano for opening weekend of Daffodil Hill with Auntie Katie.

The hill was crowded with people with cameras and lots of laughter. Everyone was searching for the elusive peacock. He was found on top of an old building, gleaming in the sunlight.

The kids had fun running through the paths and asking about the flowers.

It’s getting harder and harder to get my son to pose for me. He has braces, so I am not sure if it is that, or if he is more aware of people watching and just in a stage of life… But we got a couple of shots of him! šŸ™‚

Maddie on the other hand…

Two turtle doves preening each other…

Love this cow skull…

Then it was on to Grinding Rock State Park. Since we were up in the hills and we would be passing it anyhow…

I remember visiting the park as a youngster, but I think this time around I had more of an appreciation of the park and the history here. The mortar holes just amaze me.

The roundhouse was amazing. You don’t get the expanse of it until you look in…

Hubby wanted to know how much we should offer on the place… Don’t think it is for sale babe… at least not yet…

We ventured down a trail…Where we found LOTS of Poison Oak! Thank goodness for Auntie Katie’s keen eye. As we were turning back for safer ground, a turkey was spotted in the woods…

Heading back to civilization…

I love the old gnarly oaks…

On our way to eat lunch/dinner my sister and I were behind an RV with two little girls in the back window. They waved, we waved. I made fishy faces, they made fishy faces… They were too cute… And the camera was in the trunk. I was sure their parents might freak out a bit at strangers shooting their kids. We waved our goodbyes as we arrived at our next destination. We ate at Mel’s and Faye’s Diner in Jackson. Again it had been years since we had eaten there. It was not the same at all. The totally rebuilt the roadside diner. It satisfied the hunger though.

And still the day was not over… Chase road his bike, Joe played with a stick, Maddie played with her guitar and made wishes on dandelions…

Have a great week everyone!