Merry Christmas | {my life}

Merry Christmas everyone!

It’s been great! Got to sleep in a bit. The kids didn’t wake up until 8:30 this morning! I had to actually take the dogs out after Daddy made a lot noise trying to wake the kids.

They then ran from their rooms and into the front room.

“He came! He came! Santa came!”

Let’s backtrack a little to yesterday, Christmas Eve. I had family over to the house. My husband and I decided to have a non-traditional dinner, (for most of our family). We were stuffed with turkey from Thanksgiving. We had had two different dinners of turkey for that holiday. So we decided rice, beans, and my tamales.

I made cheese and jalapeño ones and chicken in a green sauce tamales.

In the steamer…

The masa.

Chicken filling.

Maddie decorating her little tree from the Christmas tree farm.

The banana-chocolate empandas. DELICIOUS!!!

The finished empanadas.

And then just some general Christmas photos…

I love our nightlight!

The new ornament my mother gave us for our tree.

This little tree was made by my step-great-grandmother many years ago. Each little “thing” is a pin all hand done. It is beautiful and reminds me that not everything has to be commercialized.

My rein-dog… Joe!

Merry Christmas to one and all!