Thankfulness

Today is Thanksgiving. I hope you are all able to give THANKS with your friends and family.

I know I have so much to be THANKFUL for.

I am THANKFUL for being alive. Not just living but to actually feel. Not just happiness, or contentment but sorrow and pain also. Without that, I can appreciate the joy and love in my life even more.

I am THANKFUL for my beautiful family.Watching my children grow and learn – it is just amazing.

I am THANKFUL for my husband. He knows me better than anyone. Yes anyone. He’s knows when I am happy. He knows when something is up. He has loved me large and loves me as I work to a size he has never seen me at. He loves his children. He embarrasses me every chance he gets. I love his happy laugh. I love his singing in the shower. He is a hard worker. I wish more people were like him. He fiercely protects his children. Even though he is a Cowboys fan and has corrupted my son, I love him.

I am soooooo very THANKFUL for my friends. True friends are rare. People come in and out of our lives. Some drift in and out like a light breeze. Some are awesome and touch you in such a life-changing way – but are taken away from us way too soon. I am THANKFUL for those moments we had and adventures we made. Though my heart aches still when I think of you and that fateful day, I am THANKFUL I could call you soul sister. Then there are your best friends that love you at your worst. The friends that lift you up and protect you ferociously. The friends that you can go antiquing with or thrifting with knowing your husband will never understand, but its therapy. And the ones that you know you can turn to for a secret smile, or look to when you need at a laugh or a butt kicking – those are the ones I am especially THANKFUL for.

I am THANKFUL for this year of change. Because of my wonderful friends, Lyanne and Doug I have begun a new life. Both in my faith, and my body. Lyanne has helped to know that yes I have a bum knee, but I can still do so much. I am no longer scared to run 3.1 miles because I can’t. As grandpa says, “Can’t went into the cornfield and died.” I still have no idea what the heck that is suppose to mean, but I learned quick not to say can’t. Because of their love for my family, we have found our spiritual home. I am no longer scared of the shadows and valleys in our lives. There is a peace in my heart that words just do not do justice.

I am THANKFUL for these shoes. Because they were chosen just for me by my friend.  We have shared some many tears. My tears for running my first mile without stopping. After sprinting that last distance. Tears that I have changed so much. I am THANKFUL for the tears we have shared as she hugged me with pride of a mama lion I have never felt before from another.

I am THANKFUL for my view point that God has blessed me with. The way I see the world is through light and a lens. What could be more awesome? I love what I do and know that I am on the path that I should be on.

I am THANKFUL for my clients. You all have touched my life in ways you’ll never know. I am glad to call so many of them friends.

I am THANKFUL for a messy house. Yes that may sound crazy but it is a home not a house. It is lived in and run through. We live a busy life. There are socks on the floor and dust bunnies under the couch. I make no apologies for that.

I am THANKFUL for finishing my first 5k. I hate running. HATE HATE HATE HATE running. In case you missed it, I don’t like it very much. BUT I am THANKFUL to run with the people I love. And I am THANKFUL for not dying! LOL

I am THANKFUL for the rainbow before the race.

Our pastor said last night that people are not as THANKFUL like they once were. No one says THANK you as much. I agree people get busy in their own lives and can’t see past their own noses some days. But I can change that.

THANK YOU all for being a part of my life. And have a wonderful THANKSGIVING.