Help-Portrait Lodi

For a few years now, I have wanted to start a Help-Portrait Lodi event. I first learned of the project through my mentor, Clifford Oto, of The Record. I had been blessed to help him out a few years ago in Stockton at the homeless shelter. It was an amazing gift to partake in. We stayed until everyone had gotten their images. It was life changing and life affirming. You can read about the event here.

For me, I know that the ability to take photographs or pretty pictures is a God given talent. I just see differently.

For the last two or three years, I have been nudged to start a Help-Portrait here in my own community. But things come up and I had pushed it to the back burner.

A week ago, the nudging began to be more of a push… And an “Ahem!” And even an impatient tapping foot “encouraging” me to “Just do it!”

So, I finally talked to my Pastor last Sunday and shared the idea of starting Help-Portrait here in our own community. He loved the idea.

I now have said it out loud. I told my Pastor. (And you really can’t tell your pastor, “Just kidding”, right?). It is even here on my blog. The wheels have been set in motion.

So what is Help-Portrait? H-P-LogoTM-horiz

“Founded by Celebrity Photographer Jeremy Cowart, Help-Portrait is a community of photographers coming together across the world to use their photography skills to give back to their local community.
In December, photographers around the world will be grabbing their cameras, finding people in need and taking their picture. When the prints are ready, the photographs get delivered.”

That is it.

Easy.

But now I need some help.

We need Lodi’s fabulous photographers (and photographers from the surrounding area) to step up and and share their gifts.

We need hairdressers and make-up artist to accentuate the inner beauty of those we will help.

We need greeters, donations, food, printers, frames and more.

All this to make this a successful event.

The goal is 100 families and individuals on December 07, 2013.

So if your heart moves you, or you feel a nudge, fill out the form below. We will be contacting you.

The first meeting will be in the first part of September. Details will be posted on the Help-Portrait Lodi Wall as well as the Lodi Facebook page. I will post on here the blog as well.

Even if you don’t know how to take a photograph. Come. We’ll find the perfect place for you.

xoxo

Jen