Hawaii iv

Day four.

These posts are driving me insane. It is a love/hate relationship. I love the beautiful reminders they are of a beautiful trip we took. I hate the utter longing I feel in my heart to return… now.

Diamond Head Crater.

As out of shape as I am and with gnarly knees, this was a pretty awesome hike.

HI_IMG_4733

And after any grueling trail walking/hiking, a shaved ice is certainly earned.

We loved Waiola. It was like eating flavored fresh snow. And… they had Spam Musubi! Can’t go wrong here!HI_IMG_4879

We spent time on the beach and visited Duke’s statue.

Dinnertime was falling fast upon us. We were told while in Waikiki, we have to hit Rainbow Drive-In. We tried the loco moco plate, traditional Hawaiian fare consisting of two hamburger patties, covered with gravy, topped with two eggs to order on a bed of rice. Served with a side of macaroni salad. Very rich but very yummy.

Afterwards, I talked hubs into stopping at Leonard’s Bakery down the street. All week long we had been passing it and every time there were people standing out front and the parking lot full. I was curious.

In the future… whenever in Honolulu/Waikiki… STOP AT LEONARD’S.

The malasadas are amazing. Malasadas are like giant doughnut holes. But light and airy covered in sugar.

First we tried the original. Hubs stated that they were good but need a filling. I pointed out they do have ones with filling. So we made another trip during the week and got the custard and a couple of chocolate filled. Heaven. Simply Heaven.

HI_IMG_4899Now that we are all hungry… 🙂

Have a great night!

xoxo

Jen